Discovery (Search across the databases using Discovery)
Please note that you have to be logged in to the OU Portal to be able to use the Discovery tool.
Primary Sources are the original documents that make-up the backbone of history. We have a set a databases in Ebschost that provide access to primary sources. If you go to Ebschost and find all the American Antiquarian Society or AAS databases, you will be able to search for Primary Sources. There are 5 Series' of databases. If you checkmark all five and search across them you will be able to find resources:
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 presents over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820. Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic, Series 1 is first of the five series created from periodical holdings from one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The entire AAS collection features over 7500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 1 is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 2 presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The series two is second of the five series created from serials holdings belonging to one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society and featuring about 6500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. Series 3 is the third of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. Series 4 is the fourth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877. Series 5 is the fifth of five series created from serials holdings of one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The themes presented in Series 5 reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.