|
American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) Humanities Ebook Database |
|
|
This electronic resource includes over 3,700 full-text, cross-searchable books in the humanities selected by scholars for their continuing importance for research and teaching. This database provides users with simultaneous multi-user access and faculty can link their syllabi to books/chapters in this collection. The ACLS HEB Collection includes monographs, critical studies, primary sources, reference works and volumes of essays in a large variety of fields in the Humanities. |
|
|
This link provides full-text access to articles on American history. |
|
|
|
|
|
These are all made available through the Kansas State Library. This database provides vehicle searches by year and vehicle type, care and repair and troubleshooting information. Please note that the following databases can also be accessed off this Ebsco link: Middle School Search, Ebooks Mobile App, Searchasaurus, Explora, Student Research Center, Kidsearch and additional Ebsco databases that can be accessed through Ebscohost. |
|
|
This is a non-fiction e-book library for teachers in the K-12 classroom made available through the Kansas State Library. The Spanish version of the Encyclopedia Britannica is available below |
|
|
|
|
|
CCH Intelliconnect Human Resources Library THIS DATABASE IS CURRENTLY OFFLINE!!! |
|
|
THIS DATABASE HAS A SECURITY HITCH!!! To access it here is what we have to do using Firefox: Click on the link on the Ottawa University Page---Your connection is not Secure---Advanced---Add Exception---Confirm Security--- (sometimes you have to go through the process twice before it lets you in). This process using Chrome is a little shorter. The CCH database includes Human Resources news, current awareness reports and updates, treatises, guidebooks and reference tools. CCH also has labor, strategy, employment law and regulations practice tools that can be used in HR research. The first time you sign in you will be prompted to create a personal id and password. Please use an your Ottawa email address to do so. At that login screen are three boxes to check, Remember My User ID, Remember My Password, and Automatically Log Me In. Check all three and it will place a cookie on your computer to remember you the next time you enter the system and won’t have to enter the data again. If you forget your CCH passwords or need the new user login page, please do the following: Go to Internet Explorer, go to Tools and choose Options. In options choose browse history and click delete. You have to delete your cookies and temporary internet files. Once that is done, if you go to CCH you should see the link to sign-up as a new user. |
|
|
Online Higher Education Resource that provides access to higher education articles, blogs and job advertisements. To login to this database please enter the following password and id: myerslibrary password: 4jlee |
|
|
CredoReference is an online reference tool that includes 396 print publications on a variety of topics and from a range of publishers, including ABC-CLIO, Cambridge, Greenwood, Macmillan, Routledge, and SAGE. |
|
|
Contains abstracts, as well as full-text entries, for journals and magazine articles. Major databases include Academic Source Premier (coverage for most academic areas), CINAHL Complete, PsychArticles, Regional Business News, Business Source Premier (includes company records from Dun & Bradstreet), SocSciIndex Full-Text, Mental Measurements Yearbook and Education Research Complete. EBOOKS IN EBSCOHOST CAN BE DOWNLOADED TO A MOBILE DEVICE. IF YOU WANT TO DOWNLOAD AN EBOOK FROM EBSCOHOST TO YOUR MOBILE DEVICE, PLEASE BE AWARE THAT YOU WILL NEED TO DO THE FOLLOWING FIRST: 1. CREATE YOUR OWN PERSONAL ACCOUNT ON EBSCOHOST 2. CHECK THE EBOOK OUT TO YOURSELF ON EBSCOHOST ONCE THIS CHECKOUT IS ACCOMPLISHED, THE SYSTEM WILL ALLOW YOU TO DOWNLOAD YOUR EBOOK TO A MOBILE DEVICE. Can't get in? Check your browser requirements! |
|
|
|
|
|
Explora has a new set of Ebscohost multi-face databases made available to teachers and students through the Kansas State Library. |
|
|
This is a digital magazine database that provides access for students to popular magazines that can be read on an ipad or an android device. Flipster offers news magazines that connect users with the latest stories on current events, health, business and sports. These popular magazines will ensure that library users always have the most up to date popular articles in the palms of their hands. The Flipster App can be downloaded to a mobile device or computer from the Google Play store, so that any Flipster titles available through the library can be read. If you have an library card from Ottawa Public Library Card, then you will have access to additional magazine titles that can be read on Flipster and that are not available through the OU Library. |
|
|
Gale Business Insights: Global combines an international perspective and sophisticated research tools with convenient access to a range of comprehensive learning materials. Designed to move researchers quickly to higher levels of understanding and application. The database uses case studies, statistical data sources, news articles, academic journals and topical reference materials organized by country, company and industry to quickly engage users in the global business environment. |
|
|
See the Gale Virtual Reference Tutorial Below |
|
|
This database is provided for Kansas residents by the Kansas State Library. This is a database of e-books focusing on high interest Health-related topics. |
|
|
The Gale Virtual Reference Top 50 database includes fifty of the top e-reference titles from a variety of disciplines, which includes titles from subject areas such as Business, Education and the Social Sciences. |
|
|
Global Issues in Context focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news that are related to these broader issues. It also includes detailed information on nations to provide a foundation for cross-cultural studies and, International periodicals and news sources that bring additional insight and currency. |
|
|
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. |
|
|
HeinOnline Gun Regulation and Legislation in America ABOUT THE DATABASE Gun Regulation and Legislation in America brings together more than 550 titles dealing with this difficult and important topic. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more. Links to nearly 500 scholarly articles,* an extensive bibliography, and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject are also provided. Research the National Firearms Act, the United States v. Miller and District of Columbia v. Heller decisions, and other key aspects of this subject. What's Included:
|
|
|
Students may access the KanFind databases via the State Library Webpage and the Kan-Ed databases via this link. The following databases below are examples of databases that can be accessed using a Kansas Library Card. If you wish to use one of these databases please contact the library desk for a Kansas Library Card. Bookflix http://bkflix.grolier.com/ Freading E books http://kslib.freading.com/pages/aboutus World Health Organization Mental Health Site http://www.who.int/mental_health/en/ Gale library Databases such as: Kansas History and Geneology Connect are also available on the Kansas State Library Page if you login with your Kansas Library Card. Please watch this tutorial for more information about those databases. Tutorial |
|
|
A catalog listing the book and periodical title holdings of many Kansas libraries, academic, public, and school. Interlibrary loans for books and media may only be made by those who can come to the library in Ottawa to pick them up. |
|
|
This database provides practice tests for the GRE, GMAT, MCAT, LSAT, PSAT; a variety of career placement practice tests such as Military, Nursing and Teaching tests and job search, workplace and computer skill building resources.
NOTE: THIS DATABASE IS PROVIDED BY THE KANSAS STATE LIBRARY. ALL OU STUDENTS, FACULTY OR STAFF LOCATED OUTSIDE THE STATE OF KANSAS MUST GET A KANSAS LIBRARY CARD FROM A LIBRARIAN IN ORDER TO ACCESS THIS DATABASE. PLEASE EMAIL library@ottawa.edu FOR A KANSAS LIBRARY CARD NUMBER. First time users: Go to register and fill out the registration form with all the requested information. Do not try to change the top button that says: Your institution is the State Library of Kansas. Once your registration is accepted you will get a message that says: Welcome…and your name at the top of the page. |
|
|
Contains full-text information on a variety of subject databases in the areas of business, and law. This database also contains a substantial newspaper database that searches specialized news sources such as news transcripts, wires and legal and university newspaper sources. |
|
|
This is an online system that helps students to learn Languages such as French, German, Spanish and many more. You will be prompted to click on "Guest" Access or you must create your own profile which will include your email address and password. You can use either to use the database. |
|
|
This is innovative software that supports the research process and aids the user with bibliography composition and note-taking in APA, MLA and Terabian styles. Note: Each user must create a "personal folder" (i.e., select a personal ID and password) by clicking the "Create a Personal ID" button on the login screen before they can utilize the application. Do you want to use Noodletools on your phone ? Download NoodleTools Companion, our latest addition to the NoodleTools mobile platform! The iOS and Android apps are FREE for all NoodleTools subscribers. Students working in the library can efficiently scan a book's ISBN or search by author/title to generate a perfectly-formatted citation. After adding an annotation (or notes), the citation can then be routed directly into the student's NoodleTools project of choice. This app is optimized for phone screens, but can be used on an iPad or other tablet. Open www.noodletools.com in a browser like Safari or Chrome to access the full functionality of NoodleTools via our mobile site. |
|
|
|
|
|
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: Critical Thinking provides a variety of challenging activities, quizzes and mp3 audio files that promote engaged learning and align with state curriculum standards. Each entry offers thought-provoking features that encourage interaction, problem solving and critical thinking. |
|
|
Full-text Nursing, Allied Health, Alternative & Complementary Medicine articles. |
|
|
|
|
|
Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. It is an online snapshot of America and its people. |
|
|
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. |
|
|
The Sage Knowledge Database is provided to Kansas residents by the Kansas State Library. This is a suite of databases that includes the CQ Press Database, reference books, videos, encyclopedias, business case studies and handbooks in the fields of Business, Education and the Social Sciences. |
|
|
Sage Nursing & Public Health Collection Includes 94 journals covering such subjects as Aging and Gerontology, Autism, Child Psychiatry, Clinical Psychology, Dementia, Gerontological Health/Gerontology, Health Evaluation, Health Promotion, Health Psychology, Health Services/Administration, Holistic Nursing, Mental Disorder/Learning Disability, Nursing, Nursing Research, Nursing Theory, Pediatric Nursing, Public Health, Public Health Education, Pediatrics, Qualitative Research, Research Methods and Evaluation, Sociology of the Family, Social Studies of Health, and Transcultural Psychiatry.
|
|
|
The Sage Stats Database is provided to Kansas residents by the Kansas State Library. This database makes research easy by providing, in one place, annual measures dating back more than two decades. It features statistical data series created from more than 200,000 government and non-government datasets, covering popular topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, metropolitan areas, and ZIP codes. By harmonizing carefully-vetted data from multiple sources into the same format– allowing quick downloads, comparisons, and visualizations–SAGE Stats provides power and context for researchers at all levels. |
|
|
Download as many e-books as you want from our catalog of 50,000 e-books, and start reading immediately, with no holds and no limitations. Our statewide Total Boox e-books system has access to the full catalog of materials from publishers such as Elsevier, O'Reilly Media, and Packt. Checkouts do not expire and patrons can check out as many books as they would like at a time. |
|
|
|
|
|
This database is provided to Kansas residents by the Kansas State Library. This database provides beginners courses in a variety of areas such as Real Estate, Office Skills, Career Training, Pet and Animal Care, Self-Help and many more areas. |
|
|
OCLC's free, open WorldCat program allows public access to book, media and websites across the libraries of the world. |
|
|
The Artstor Shared Shelf Project is a 3-year Project through the Council of Independent Colleges sponsored by the Mellon Foundation providing selected Colleges and Universities throughout the United States to build Teaching Collections in Artstor Shared Shelf. Ottawa Universitys Project has two Collections that will be built over the next two and a half years in collaboration with Dr. Kelly Fish-Greenlee of the Sociology and Social Anthropology Departments and with Ryan Louis of the Chair of Forensics and the Communications Department. |
|
|
Kansas City Star E-Star |
|
|
Go to http://www.kansascity.com/ Scroll to the bottom of the page and click E-Star under "Subscriptions." Click on "Desktop version sign in" or "Mobile or tablet version sign in." Sign in with email: library@ottawa.edu and PW: OU1865$ Select the address with Ottawa University in it. You can read the past 8 years of the newspaper. |
|
|
Topeka Capital Journal |
|
|
Go to http://www.cjonline.com/ Click on E-Edition under the blue bar at the top. Sign in with email: library@ottawa.edu and PW: OU1865$ You can read the past 5 years of the newspaper. |
|