Skip to main content

Government Information Guide: Finding Digital US Government Information Online

Since we are not a government repository, it makes the most sense to create a guide to open government information and tools that can be used by Ottawa University students.

Digital Government Guides, Resources and Publications

American FactFinder is your source for population, housing, economic and geographic information.

Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government, a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), is designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government, which issues the publications and information products disseminated by the GPO’s Federal Depository Library Program.

The Budget contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year.

The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance is a government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the American public. It contains financial and non-financial assistance programs administered by departments and establishments of the Federal government. Online and Print (latest year and updates only).

The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.

This is the annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government.

The official directory of the United States Congress that includes members of the Senate and House, committee members, room and telephone numbers, and officials of the courts. Online from 1997-2016.

The Congressional Record is the daily official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.
Online 1994-present.

Also known as the Constitution Annotated, it is the legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based primarily on Supreme Court cases.

The daily and weekly compilations of the Presidential documents are the official publication of material released by the White House Press Secretary. 1992-present.

Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, Economic Indicators provide economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, and more. 1995-present.

An annual report which gives an overview of the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. 1995-present.

Official source for authenticated PDF copies of documents from all three branches of the Federal government, including the United States Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Congressional committee documents, economic indicators, and more.

The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of the Federal agencies and organizations along with executive orders. 1970-present.

1936-1993 online.

                This database provides policy and strategy documents and CRS reports.   

                This database searches a variety of government databases on specific topic areas.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, ten year outlook, and median pay for workers.

The official publication of the President's addresses, writings, and remarks.

The resource for all Social Security questions. A guide to Social Security for laypeople, published online by the Social Security Administration. Updated biannually (January and July).

The permanent and general laws of the United States are divided by broad subjects into fifty-four titles. 1994-present online.

Reference Help for organizing this site from:

Wichita State University, Wichita, Kansas.  Government Information Libguide.

Director of Library Services

Gloria Creed-Dikeogu's picture
Gloria Creed-Dikeogu
Contact:
Ottawa University
Gangwish Library
1001 S. Cedar
Ottawa KS. 66067-3399
785-248-2536
Website
Subjects:Diversity

Open Government Resources

The Alliance for Taxpayer Access is a coalition of patient groups, physicians, researchers, educational institutions, publishers, and health promotion organizations that support barrier-free access to taxpayer-funded research.

             Benefits are searchable by state

A list of websites for each agency's open government efforts and a link to their open websites.

             FedFlix was a joint venture with the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) is included.

             This site monitors changes in government websites online.

Federal Inspector General Reports - federal and state level.