Gangwish Library: Faculty Professional Development Guide: Searching for Professional Development Resources

Why was this LibGuide Created?

This LibGuide was created as a Guide for Ottawa University faculty and adjuncts to provide them with a starting point from where they can access books, e-resources, and online links to professional development opportunities and materials.

Search the Gangwish Library Catalog

Search the Periodicals A to Z for Professional Development Full-Text articles

Ebsco Periodical A to Z This link opens in a new window

Search Google Books for Books on Professional Development Topics

New ASCD Books available at the Gangwish Library

The books listed below are from the ASCD and are available in our for checkout at our library. We get several new ASCD books per year.

if you are faculty or an adjunct at OU's Sites or Online, you can make special arrangements with a librarian to checkout our ASCD books. If you want to do this, please email, call or chat with our librarians and we can process a library card for you, and check our the book, and we can send it on to you at your home address for a month, with renewal on that date possible.

Qualities of Effective Teachers by James Stronge
Call Number: 371.102 St8q
ISBN: 0871206633
Publication Date: 2002-07-01
Teacher Evaluation to Enhance Professional Practice by Charlotte Danielson; Thomas L. McGreal
Call Number: 371.144 D22t
ISBN: 0871203804
Publication Date: 2000-07-01
Where Great Teaching Begins by Anne R. Reeves
Call Number: 371.33 R25w
ISBN: 9781416613329
Publication Date: 2011-11-01

Finding full-text articles in Education Databases for Professional Development

If you click on an ebook and a "continue" button prompts you, please click it and it will take you into the ebook.

Ebook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Ebooks can be downloaded to an ipad or ipod.
Ebook General Collection This link opens in a new window
Ebooks can be downloaded to an ipad or ipod.
Education Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Education Abstracts™ provides indexing and abstracts for more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks, dating as far back as 1983. Books on education published after 1995 are also indexed. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Ebooks about mentoring, empowerment and transformation

Transforming Professional Development into Student Results by Douglas B. Reeves
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781416609490
Publication Date: 2010-04-01

The Ebscohost E-Book Academic Collection has ebooks relating to professional development topics. Here are a few of the current books available to read: