Faculty Professional Development Guide: Professional Development E-books

The institution of tenure--once a cornerstone of American colleges and universities--is rapidly eroding. Today, the majority of faculty positions are part-time or limited-term appointments, a radical change that has resulted more from circumstance than from thoughtful planning. As colleges and universities evolve to meet the changing demands of society, how might their leaders design viable alternative faculty models for the future?    Envisioning the Faculty for the Twenty-First Century weighs the concerns of university administrators, professors, adjuncts, and students in order to critically assess emerging faculty models and offer informed policy recommendations. Cognizant of the financial pressures that have led many universities to favor short-term faculty contracts, higher education experts Adrianna Kezar and Daniel Maxey assemble a top-notch roster of contributors to  investigate whether there are ways to modify the existing system or promote new faculty models. They suggest how colleges and universities might rethink their procedures for faculty development, hiring, scheduling, and evaluation in order to maintain a campus environment that still fosters faculty service and student-centered learning.    Even as it asks urgent questions about how to retain the best elements of American higher education, Envisioning the Faculty for the Twenty-First Century also examines the opportunities that systemic changes might create. Ultimately, it provides some starting points for how colleges and universities might best respond to the rapidly evolving needs of an increasingly global society.    

Lifelong learning, is the "lifelong, life wide, voluntary, and self-motivated" pursuit of knowledge for either personal or professional reasons. As such, it not only enhances social inclusion, active citizenship and personal development, but also competitiveness and employability. The term recognises that learning is not confined to childhood or the classroom, but takes place throughout life and in a range of situations. During the last fifty years, constant scientific and technological innovation and change has had a profound effect on learning needs and styles. Learning can no longer be divided into a place and time to acquire knowledge (school) and a place and time to apply the knowledge acquired (the workplace). This new and important book gathers the latest research from around the globe in this dynamic field and highlights such topics as: lifelong learning for physicians, faculty learning in online courses, lifelong learning in Greece, a competence perspective on lifelong workplace learning, and others.

The purpose of this book is to serve as a guide for designing, developing, and teaching learner centered online courses and/or modules of instruction. Chapter 1 provides an introduction to online education. Chapter 2 provides information on the resources and support needed to teach and learn in an online environment. Chapter 3 provides information and considerations in regards to the online learner. Chapter 4 provides information on the domains of learning. Chapter 5 provides information on learning outcomes and instructional objectives. Chapter 6 provides information on online course interaction. Chapter 7 provides information pertaining to assessment and grading rubrics. Each chapter of the book includes an application exercise. This book will assist the reader in understanding the important factors in regards to online education. This book would also provide the foundational information, tools, and resource information needed to design, develop, and teach a learner centered online course or modules of instruction. This book would be a valuable resource for any educator interested in teaching online and for those who may already by teaching online. Educators in a variety of areas wishing to learn more about online teaching, course design, and course development could benefit from this book. This book could also serve as a text book for undergraduate and graduate courses related to online teaching, course design, and course development. This book could also serve as an administrative resource and guide for programs developing online courses and for faculty training and professional development purposes.