Job Searching Guide: Resumes & Cover Letters

OVER 600,000 BEATTY CAREER GUIDES SOLD * Provides proven techniques for writing the perfect resume for your ideal job * Covers all resume formats with over 80 sample resumes and cover letters * Features sample electronic resumes and guidelines for posting your resume on the Internet * Highlights the "top 20" Internet sites for posting your resume America's #1 job expert gives you all the tools you need to craft the perfect resume and land your dream job Your resume is the most important job-search tool you have for making yourself stand out from the crowd and getting your foot in the door of a potential employer. It's the very cornerstone of a successful job-hunting campaign. With clear instructions, expert advice, and numerous examples you can draw from, Richard Beatty's The Resume Kit will help you build a resume that works-a distinctive document that captures attention and gets you that interview! One of North America's top job-search gurus, Beatty tells you how employers think, what they look for in a candidate, and how to mold your resume to let them know that you have what they want. In this fully updated Fourth Edition, he shares the latest techniques and thinking in resume writing for today's job market and computerized human resources departments. Inside, you'll find: * An easy, step-by-step workbook approach that greatly simplifies resume writing * The Twelve Myths of Resume Writing-and the real facts that can guide you * New coverage of the "electronic resume," complete with instructions on the proper format for online databases * Job-hunting techniques for the information age-including listings and descriptions of the "top 20" career sites on the Web * More than 80 sample resumes and cover letters * Valuable advice for those with special problems-unemployed, fired, too many jobs, etc. * Detailed instructions for preparing the highly popular linear resume format Packed with road-tested tips, easy-to-follow directions, and inside-the-industry expertise, The Resume Kit will do for you what it has done for thousands of other job seekers-guide you in creating a powerful resume that will drive potential employers to pick up the phone and call you.

Readers will gain 10 steps to building a resume with ease. The included CD-ROM is filled with worksheets, templates, and designer resume samples. By filling in the blanks, checking the relevant boxes, and pasting in prewritten 'Resume ClipBullets ,' readers can pull together an effective resume with ease. Step-by-Step Resumes also includes an extensive collection of thousands of powerful resume keywords to help readers' resumes stand out in electronic databases. New content for this edition includes a section on integrating your resume into your social networking strategy, as well as new personal branding worksheets and expanded tips on e-mailing resumes.

In today's competitive job market, if your cover letter doesn't grab the interviewer's attention, he or she may never even glance at your resume. No-Nonsense Cover Letters gives you the powerful, practical tools to write attention-grabbing cover letters that complement your resume and get you more interviews and job offers. In this companion to No-Nonsense Resumes authors and professional resume writers Wendy Enelow and Arnie Boldt share their insights from 35+ years of combined experience to help you prepare cover letters that will get you noticed. No-Nonsense Cover Letters begins with a thorough but easy-to-understand explanation of the key elements that are vital to creating attention-grabbing letters, including: Why writing a cover letter is all about selling yourself How to craft targeted cover letters When to use bullets or paragraphs Creating E-Letters for today's E-Search environment Subsequent chapters offer tips on creating winning letters for opportunities in virtually every profession: Administration & Clerical; Accounting, Banking & Finance; Government; Health Care & Social Services; Hospitality Management & Food Service; Human Resources & Training; Law Enforcement & Legal; Manufacturing & Operations; Sales, Marketing & Customer Service; Skilled Trades; and Technology, Science & Engineering Each chapter includes sample letters contributed by leading resume writers and career consultants worldwide.

Writing a career-change resume is the most complex of resumes to write. Using actual resumes and covering letters, the editor of this series shows the reader how to consider new opportunities and how to communicate past experience in a way that builds bridges to new careers.