Skip to main content

Using EDS (Ebsco Discovery) Search: ottawa.libguides.com

How to use Ebsco Discovery to find library resources.

WHAT IS EBSCO EDS?

                                                                                          

 

EBSCO DISCOVERY is a search engine that allows users to search across all the Ottawa University Library's online databases. That means that users can search for any type of resource in this catalog. Users need to be aware that their searches will list all the Gangwish Library's titles related to a topic or subject search first, and then it will list titles not held by the Gangwish Library. Always check and make sure that the titles ays that they are held by or in one of the Gangwish Library's collections. Other items may be obtained on Interlibrary Loan from other libraries in the US.

EBSCO DISCOVERY SEARCH DO'S

 

  • Limit your searches by combining all search terms with "AND"

 

IF YOU WANT TO FIND SCHOLARLY, PEER-REVIEWED ARTICLES, GO TO 'REFINE RESULTS' ON THE LEFT SIDE OF THE SCREEN

  • Make sure the following boxes are checkmarked:   FULL-TEXT and  PEER-REVIEWED

GO TO 'LIMIT TO' ON THE LEFT SIDE OF THE SCREEN

  • Move the publication date slider to the years you want to search.

 

GO TO "FILTER BY FORMAT ON THE LEFT SIDE OF THE SCREEN

YOU CAN LIMIT YOUR SEARCH TO ACADEMIC JOURNALS OR OTHER RESOURCES AND YOU CAN SHOW MORE RESOURCES IF THE ONES YOU WANT ARE NOT LISTED

YOU CAN ALSO OPEN OTHER FILTERS LIKE SUBJECT, PUBLISHER, LANGUAGE ETC...ITS UP TO YOU TO TRY THOSE FILTERS AND SEE WHAT RESULTS YOU GET!!!

SEARCH EDS

EBSCO Discovery Service
Limit Your Results

Ebsco Discovery Service (EDS) Tutorials

Ebsco Discovery Service EDS Custom Links

Director of Library Services

Gloria Creed-Dikeogu's picture
Gloria Creed-Dikeogu
Contact:
Ottawa University
Gangwish Library
1001 S. Cedar
Ottawa KS. 66067-3399
785-248-2536
Website
Subjects:Diversity

FINDING FULL-TEXT ARTICLES IN EDS

 

If you are searching EDS for full-text articles that the library owns, always check to see if the articles you have found have a blue html full-text icon or a red pdf full-text icon. If they have one of those or both, then you have found a full-text article and you can download it or click the blue + to mark it and send it to yourself via email.

If you see AN ARTICLE WITH NO LISTING underneath it or a round green full-text finder icon then the article is an ABSTRACT and NOT AVAILABLE IN FULL-TEXT in any of our databases and you will need to REQUEST IT AS AN INTERLIBRARY LOAN FROM THE LIBRARY.