Using the Gale Databases: Home

This LibGuide was created as a Guide for all students and faculty using the Myers Library's Collections to find Reference and Periodical Resources using the four Gale Databases in the Online Library.

There are 5 Gale Databases in the Online Library that provide library users with very specific information:

Do you need company information, company statistics, information about a industry in business? Try this database below.

Gale Business Insight

http://bi.galegroup.com.lib.ottawa.edu/global/?u=klnb_ottawauniv

This database provides international case studies, statistical data sources, news articles, academic journals and topical reference materials organized by country, company and industry to engage users in the global business environment.

Are you looking for general reference information? Then this database is for you.

Gale Health eReference

This virtual library contains medical reference materials.

http://go.galegroup.com.lib.ottawa.edu/ps/i.do?v=2.1&u=klnb_ottawauniv&pg=BasicSearch&it=static&p=GVRL&sw=w&authCount=1&selfRedirect=true

Gale Virtual Reference Library

http://go.galegroup.com.lib.ottawa.edu/ps/start.do?p=GVRL&u=klnb_ottawauniv

This database provides reference information from fifty of the top e-reference titles from a variety of disciplines such as Business, Education and the Social Sciences.

Are you planning to write a speech? Do you want to write a paper about a timely topic? Are you interested in tracing a topic from its roots to the present discussion about it? If so, then here are two databases to try out.

Global Issues in Context

http://go.galegroup.com.lib.ottawa.edu/ps/start.do?p=GIC&u=klnb_ottawauniv

This database focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news that are related to these broader issues. It also includes detailed information on nations to provide a foundation for cross-cultural studies and, international periodicals and news sources that bring additional insight and currency.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints

http://go.galegroup.com.lib.ottawa.edu/ps/start.do?p=OVIC&u=klnb_ottawauniv

This database provides a variety of challenging activities, quizzes and mp3 audio files that promote engaged learning and align with state curriculum standards. Each entry offers thought-provoking features that encourage interaction, problem solving and critical thinking.