Gangwish Library: Christianity and World Religious Studies: Finding Books and Full-Text Periodicals on World Religions

Why was this LibGuide Created?

This LibGuide was created as a Guide for Religion students and faculty in using the Myers Library's Collections to find Books, Online Reference and Regular Reference Books, Periodicals, Ebooks and Resources in the Religion subject area.

Religions of the World

Torah by Moshe Greenberg (Editor); Jewish Publication Society, Inc., Staff (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780827606807
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Read our customer guide The Torah is the essence of Jewish tradition; it inspires each successive generation. The current JPS translation, based on classical and modern sources, is acclaimed for its fidelity to the ancient Hebrew.
Reading the Fifth Veda by Alf Hiltebeitel; Vishwa Adluri (Volume Editor); Joydeep Bagchee (Volume Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9789004185661
Publication Date: 2011-07-27
Often spoken of as the Fifth Veda, i.e., as a text in continuity with the four Vedas and outweighing them all in size and import, the Mah bh rata presents a complex mythological and narrative landscape, incorporating fundamental ethical, social, philosophic, and pedagogic issues. In a series of position pieces and essays written over a span of 30 years, Alf Hiltebeitel, Columbian Professor of Religion, History, and Human Sciences at The George Washington University, articulates a compelling new approach to the epic: as a literary work of fundamental theological and philosophical significance rich in metaphor and meaning. In this three-part volume, the editors gather some of Hiltebeitel s seminal writings on the epic along with new pieces written especially for the volume.This two volume edition collects nearly three decades of Alf Hiltebeitel s researches into the Indian epic and religious tradition. The two volumes document Hiltebeitel s longstanding fascination with the Sanskrit epics: volume 1 presents a series of appreciative readings of the Mah bh rata (and to a lesser extent, the R m ya a), while volume 2 focuses on what Hiltebeitel has called the underground Mah bh rata, i.e., the Mah bh rata as it is still alive in folk and vernacular traditions. Recently re-edited and with a new set of articles completing a trajectory Hiltebeitel established over 30 years ago, this work constitutes a definitive statement from this major scholar. Comprehensive indices, cross-referencing, and an exhaustive bibliography make it an essential reference work. For more information on the second volume please click here.
Three Testaments by Marc Zvi Brettler (Contribution by); Laleh Bakhtiar (Contribution by); Brian Arthur Brown (Editor); David Bruce (Contribution by); Henry Carrigan (Contribution by); Ellen Frankel (Contribution by); Amir Hussain (Foreword by); Nevin Reda (Contribution by)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781442214934
Publication Date: 2014-01-02
From disagreement over an Islamic Center in New York to clashes between Christians and Muslims in Egypt, tension between the three Abrahamic faiths often runs high. Yet for all their differences, these three traditions--Judaism, Islam, and Christianity--share much in common. Three Testaments brings together for the first time the text of the Torah, the New Testament, and the Quran, so that readers can explore for themselves the connections, as well as the points of departure, between the three faiths. Notable religion scholars provide accessible introductions to each tradition, and commentary from editor Brian Arthur Brown explores how the three faiths may draw similarities from the ancient Zoroastrian tradition. This powerful book provides a much-needed interfaith perspective on key sacred texts.

Finding Bible Concordances and Commentaries at the Gangwish

If you are prompted by an ebook to click a continue button, please do. It will take you into the ebook you clicked on.

Manuscripts of the Greek Bible by Bruce M. Metzger
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780195029246
Publication Date: 1981-09-17
After a thorough survey of the fundamentals of Greek palaeograpy, the author discusses many of the distinctive features of biblical manuscripts, such as musical neumes, lectionaries, glosses, commentaries and illuminations.
The Scofield® Study Bible III by Oxford (Editor)
Call Number: Ebbok
ISBN: 9780195278507
Publication Date: 2003-10-09
The fruit of Dr. C. I. Scofield's decades of reflection on the Word of God have been augmented (not revised) in this edition to make the ideas underlying the ScofieldRG Study Bible's annotations clearer to modern readers.An abundance of factual information is presented in topical articles, charts and lists that add depth and richness to study time. Enhanced book introductions, accurate in-text maps, a section of authoritative full color maps and page bottom notes broaden the context of the reader's understanding.Everything about this edition has been designed to encourage serious Bible study. First-time students and seasoned believers alike will find it to be a trustworthy guide.

Bible E-Reference Books

Companion Encyclopedia of Theology by Leslie Houlden (Editor); Peter Byrne (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780415064477
Publication Date: 1995-12-04
The Companion Encyclopedia of Theology provides a comprehensive guide to modern theological thought. An international team of theologians and practitioners of both the Christian and Jewish faiths investigate and consider aspects of theology in 48 self-contained articles. Neither partisan and denominational, nor detached and abstract, this Companion explores the resources and applications of theology in the light of Christianity's place in the modern world. The Structure The Companion Encyclopedia of Theology is divided into six parts. The first three deal with major foundational aspects of Western theological reflection: * the Hebrew and Christian Bible * the Tradition * the contribution of Philosophy The second half of the Companion is concerned with application: * in relation to Spirituality * in relation to contemporary Ethics * in relation to issues in and aspects of present-day theological construction The 48 essays are descriptive, informative and analytical; their wide-ranging content is bound into a unified perspective by the editors' general introduction and the introductions to each of the six parts. At the end of each article, there are suggestions for further reading and the work is concluded with a comprehensive index. This Companion Encyclopedia is a valuable source of reference for students, teachers and both lay and clerical practitioners of Christian and Jewish theology. Key Features * Broad Coverage - contains 48 in-depth essays covering both the history and application of Western theological thought * International Authorship - written in non-technical language by a distinguished team of editors and authors from both Christian and Jewish faiths * Balanced Approach - discusses and analyses the key issues without imposing any single viewpoint * Clearly Presented - at the end of each article, there are suggestions for further reading and the work contains a comprehensive index
A Compendium of Musical Instruments and Instrumental Terminology in the Bible by Yelena Kolyada (Translator); David J. Clark (Translator)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781845534097
Publication Date: 2014-08-08
'A Compendium of Musical Instruments and Instrumental Terminology in the Bible' draws on extensive historical research, comparative linguistic analysis and musical study to offer the first compilation of its kind. The volume examines the entire range of musical instruments in the Bible - stringed, wind and percussion - drawing on ancient and modern translations of the Bible and the works of rabbinic teachers, Church Fathers and medieval, renaissance and contemporary scholars. The book offers a historical survey of Hebrew instrumental music - its origins and links with neighbouring cultures, the role of instruments in the religious, social, public and private life of ancient Israel, and the system of musical education - and explores the understanding of Hebrew musical instruments in post-biblical times. This comprehensive volume will be invaluable to musicologists, archaeologists, theologians, historians, philologists and Bible translators, as well as general readers in the subject.
The Milton Encyclopedia by Thomas N. Corns (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780300094442
Publication Date: 2012-05-29
The Milton Encyclopedia offers easy and immediate access to a wealth of information about Milton. It will serve as a general and comprehensive reference tool for general readers, students, and scholars alike, enhancing the experience of reading Milton. Articles cover each poem and prose work by Milton; the life of Milton and the members of his family; all events and all contemporary and historical figures mentioned significantly in his writings; every book of the Bible in its relation to Milton's own work; printers, booksellers, and publishing history; the critical and editorial traditions; illustrators; and those whose own writing was shaped by Milton's influence.
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament, Volume XVI by Holger Gzella (Editor); Mark E. Biddle (Translator)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780802872814
Publication Date: 1974-01-01
Volume XVI concludes the monumental, critically acclaimed Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament with an Aramaic dictionary. This latest and last TDOT volume incorporates nearly the complete lexicon of Biblical Aramaic as well as a major portion of the theologically, culturally, and historically relevant terms in other ancient Aramaic writings. Each article provides information on the term's meaning and usage, is fully annotated, and contains a bibliography with cross-references to the entire TDOT series. Further enhancing this volume are an introductory overview of the history of Aramaic and a comparative grammatical outline of ancient Aramaic at the end of the book.

Library Guru

Danielle O'Barto

Email Me

Contact:

Gangwish Library
Ottawa University
1001 S. Cedar St.
Ottawa, KS 66067

785-248-2372

Where do you find books on Religion in the Stacks?

200 Religion
201 Philosophy of Christianity
202 Miscellany of Christianity
203 Dictionaries of Christianity
204 Special topics
205 Serial publications of Christianity
206 Organizations of Christianity
207 Education, research in Christianity
208 Kinds of persons in Christianity
209 History & geography of Christianity
210 Natural theology
211 Concepts of God
212 Existence, attributes of God
213 Creation
214 Theodicy
215 Science & religion
216 Good & evil
218 Humankind
220 Bible
221 Old Testament
222 Historical books of Old Testament
223 Poetic books of Old Testament
224 Prophetic books of Old Testament
225 New Testament
226 Gospels & Acts
227 Epistles
228 Revelation (Apocalypse)
229 Apocrypha & pseudepigrapha
230 Christian theology
231 God
232 Jesus Christ & his family
233 Humankind
234 Salvation (Soteriology) & grace
235 Spiritual beings
236 Eschatology
237 Not assigned or no longer used
238 Creeds & catechisms
239 Apologetics & polemics
240 Christian moral & devotional theology
241 Moral theology
242 Devotional literature
243 Evangelistic writings for individuals
244 Not assigned or no longer used
245 Texts of hymns
246 Use of art in Christianity
247 Church furnishings & articles
248 Christian experience, practice, life
249 Christian observances in family life
250 Christian orders & local church
251 Preaching (Homiletics)
252 Texts of sermons
253 Pastoral office (Pastoral theology)
254 Parish government & administration
255 Religious congregations & orders
259 Activities of the local church
260 Christian social theology
261 Social theology
262 Ecclesiology
263 Times, places of religious observance
264 Public worship
265 Sacraments, other rites & acts
266 Missions
267 Associations for religious work
268 Religious education
269 Spiritual renewal
270 Christian church history
271 Religious orders in church history
272 Persecutions in church history
273 Heresies in church history
274 Christian church in Europe
275 Christian church in Asia
276 Christian church in Africa
277 Christian church in North America
278 Christian church in South America
279 Christian church in other areas
280 Christian denominations & sects
281 Early church & Eastern churches
282 Roman Catholic Church
283 Anglican churches
284 Protestants of Continental origin
285 Presbyterian, Reformed, Congregational
286 Baptist, Disciples of Christ, Adventist
287 Methodist & related churches
288 Not assigned or no longer used
289 Other denominations & sects
290 Other & comparative religions
291 Comparative religion
292 Classical (Greek & Roman) religion
293 Germanic religion
294 Religions of Indic origin
295 Zoroastrianism (Mazdaism, Parseeism)
296 Judaism
297 Islam & religions originating in it
299 Other religions