Mental Illness and Crisis Prevention Resources: Gangwish Library Books and Resources on Mental Illness

Recently there has been a growing awareness of the process of recovery from serious mental illness and the importance of coming to terms with the challenges resulting from the illness. Acceptance of one's mental illness is a critical milestone of the recovery journey, fostering empowerment, hope, and self-determination. In addition, there has been a developing interest in the role of culture in influencing the experience of mental illness, treatment, and recovery. Yet, the topic of how people with diverse cultural backgrounds come to recognize and cope with their mental illness is often overlooked in the literature. Acceptance of Mental Illness adheres to a recovery-oriented philosophy that understands recovery as not simply symptom elimination, but as the process of living a meaningful and satisfying life with mental illness. The book synthesizes research on this topic and offers extensive case histories gathered by the authors to provide readers with an understanding of the multidimensional process of acceptance of mental illness across genders, ethnicities, and sexual orientations. The aim is for clinical readers to be better equipped to support people with mental illness across culturally diverse groups to experience empowerment, mental wellness, and growth. Chapters focus on providing a historical overview of the treatment of people with mental illness, examining the acceptance process, and exploring the experience of acceptance among women, men, racial-ethnic minorities, and LGBT individuals with serious mental illnesses. The book is a useful tool for mental health educators and providers, with each chapter containing case studies, clinical strategies lists, discussion questions, experiential activities, diagrams, and worksheets that can be completed with clients, students, and peers.

People with serious mental illness get sick and die 10-20 years earlier than their same age cohort. The social determinants are many: stigma associated with mental illness, poverty, ethnicity-based discrimination, higher rates of smoking and alcohol and drug use, and poor diet and exercise patterns, to name a few. Although multiple interventions have emerged as ways to combat these health challenges, additional research is necessary for the continued development and evaluation of strategies. This context serves as the springboard for Health and Wellness in People Living With Serious Mental Illness. Through multiple case vignettes, the book delves into the challenges of health and wellness for people with mental illness--including those listed above--summarizing the research on mortality and morbidity in this group as well as information about the status quo on wellness. It also provides a thorough description of community-based participatory research (CBPR), an approach that includes people in a community as partners in all facets of research, rather than just the subjects of that research. CBPR acts as the lens through which this guide considers solutions to these health problems, including integrated services and patient-centered medical homes; medical practices that diminish the iatrogenic effects of psychiatry; psychoeducation; interpersonal supports; and shared decision-making. Co-edited by Patrick Corrigan, with a 30-year history in services research, and Sonya Ballentine, a community-based member of a CBPR team, this volume offers a grounded, real-world illustration of CBPR in practice. Students of psychiatry, practicing clinicians, primary care providers, allied health professionals, policy makers--all will find, in the pages of this book, a nuanced portrait of the health challenges patients with mental illness face, possible treatment options, and future directions for the field.

Curious about how the mind works? A career in mental health might be a good fit for you! There are many different options if you're interested in a career helping those who suffer from mental illnesses. If you love helping people in need, you'll be interested to learn more about mental health and how all the different kinds of illnesses are treated. Mental health professionals work with patients to help them recover or manage many mental health problems, including depression, grief, anxiety, bipolar, schizophrenia, and eating disorders, to name a few. This book will walk you through different career options and the needed education. It also describes how to get a head start by volunteering, as well as potential salaries and the job outlook for those in mental health careers. The Careers Making A Difference series provides information on nine important and interesting careers that make a difference in and improve the whole of society. Each book in the series describes the careers available in the field, plus valuable information on education, training, salaries, job outlook, and job satisfaction.

Our understanding of the neurobiological basis of psychiatric disease has accelerated in the past five years. The fourth edition of Neurobiology of Mental Illness has been completely revamped given these advances and discoveries on the neurobiologic foundations of psychiatry. Like itspredecessors the book begins with an overview of the basic science. The emerging technologies in Section 2 have been extensively redone to match the progress in the field including new chapters on the applications of stem cells, optogenetics, and image guided stimulation to our understanding andtreatment of psychiatric disorders. Sections 3 through 8 pertain to the major psychiatric syndromes - the psychoses, mood disorders, anxiety disorders, substance use disorders, dementias, and disorders of childhood-onset. Each of these sections includes our knowledge of their etiology,pathophysiology, and treatment. The final section discusses special topic areas including the neurobiology of sleep, resilience, social attachment, aggression, personality disorders and eating disorders.In all, there are 32 new chapters in this volume including unique insights on DSM-5, the Research Domain Criteria (RDoC) from NIMH, and a perspective on the continuing challenges of diagnosis given what we know of the brain and the mechanisms pertaining to mental illness. This book providesinformation from numerous levels of analysis including molecular biology and genetics, cellular physiology, neuroanatomy, neuropharmacology, epidemiology, and behavior. In doing so it translates information from the basic laboratory to the clinical laboratory and finally to clinical treatment. Noother book distills the basic science and underpinnings of mental disorders and explains the clinical significance to the scope and breadth of this classic text. The result is an excellent and cutting-edge resource for psychiatric residents, psychiatric researchers and doctoral students inneurochemistry and the neurosciences.

At a timewhen the public discussion of mental illness in society is reaching a highpoint, athletes and other sports insiders remain curiously silent about theirprivate battles with a range of mental illnesses. While a series ofprofessional athletes have exposed the deep, dark secret related to thepervasiveness of mental illness in high performance sport, relatively little isknown, sociologically, about what mental illness culturally means inside sport.  This editedcollection showcases research on how sport, as a social institution, mayactually produce dangerous cultural practices and contexts that foster thedevelopment of mental illness within athlete groups. Further, chapters alsoillustrate how sport, when organized with sensitivity and care, may serve tohelp manage mental illnesses. Rather than analyzing mental illness as anindividual phenomenon, contributors to this volume equally attest to how mentalillness is socially developed, constructed, managed, and culturally understoodwithin sport settings. The book highlights the relevance of a range of theoriespertinent to the social study of mental illness including dramaturgy, culturalstudies, learning theory, symbolic interaction, existentialism, and total paintheory. Chapters range from the discussion of depression, anxiety, eatingdisorders, drug addiction, epilepsy, mental trauma, stigma, the mass mediationof mental illness, and the promise of sport as a vehicle for personal andcollective recovery.

Charged with updating the preeminent text on suicide, the new editors of The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Suicide Risk Assessment and Management opted not to simply revise existing chapters, but instead to steer a bold course, expanding, reconfiguring, and remaking the third edition to reflect the latest research, nomenclature, and clinical innovations. The editorial team and contributors--two-thirds of whom are new to this edition--have taken the intersection of suicide with both mental health and psychosocial issues as their organizing principle, exploring risk assessment and epidemiology in special populations, such as elderly patients, college students, military personnel, and the incarcerated as well as patients with a variety of psychological disorders, including bipolar spectrum, personality, depressive, anxiety, posttraumatic stress, and other disorders and schizophrenia. In addition, the book discusses treatment options (such as cognitive-behavioral therapy, dialectical behavioral therapy, and pharmacotherapy) and settings (such as emergency services, outpatient, inpatient, and civil commitment) in detail, with clinical cases to contextualize the material. The new and revised content is extensive: * A chapter on the influence of sleep and sleep disorders on suicide risk has been included that considers possible mechanisms for this link and discusses practical ways of assessing and managing sleep disorders to mitigate suicide risk.* Nonsuicidal self-injury, the prevalence of which is particularly high among youth, is addressed in detail, differentiating it from and comparing it to suicide attempts, discussing risk assessment, considering safety interventions, examining treatment options, and exploring suicide contagion.* No text on suicide would be complete without a serious exploration of the role of social media and the internet. The book presents an update on current research as it pertains to social networking and behavior, information access, and artificial intelligence and software, and includes suggestions for clinicians treating patients at risk for suicide.* Physician-assisted dying (PAD), also referred to as "aid-in-dying," is arguably a form of suicide, and the book includes a thoughtful chapter considering the ethical and practical implications of PAD, the murky professional and legal obligations that may arise, the demographics of these patients, the settings and conditions under which PAD may occur, and the role of the attendant clinicians.* A number of pedagogical features are included to help the reader learn and remember the material, including key clinical concepts and abundant case examples. Its diverse range of perspectives, broad relevance to a wide variety of clinicians, and absolutely authoritative coverage makes this new edition of The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Suicide Risk Assessment and Management a worthy and indispensable successor.

Pediatric Collections offers what you need to know - original, focused research in a snapshot approach. Depression is a major health concern confronting children, teens, and young adults, and trends in suicidal ideation or attempts indicate worsening mental health problems for these age groups. With a shortage of mental health specialists, more pediatricians and allied health professionals find themselves on the front lines identifying depression and suicide risk. This collection provides evidence-based guidelines for identification, assessment, treatment and ongoing management of adolescent depression and outlines the importance of screening teens for depressive symptoms and suicide risk.

Every year, about 30,000 people die by suicide in the U.S., and some 650,000 receive emergency treatment after a suicide attempt. Often, those most at risk are the least able to access professional help. Reducing Suicide provides a blueprint for addressing this tragic and costly problem: how we can build an appropriate infrastructure, conduct needed research, and improve our ability to recognize suicide risk and effectively intervene. Rich in data, the book also strikes an intensely personal chord, featuring compelling quotes about people (TM)s experience with suicide. The book explores the factors that raise a person (TM)s risk of suicide: psychological and biological factors including substance abuse, the link between childhood trauma and later suicide, and the impact of family life, economic status, religion, and other social and cultural conditions. The authors review the effectiveness of existing interventions, including mental health practitioners (TM) ability to assess suicide risk among patients. They present lessons learned from the Air Force suicide prevention program and other prevention initiatives. And they identify barriers to effective research and treatment. This new volume will be of special interest to policy makers, administrators, researchers, practitioners, and journalists working in the field of mental health.