Gangwish Library: History & Geography Research Guide: Finding History and Geography Books at Gangwish Library

Where do I find History Books in the Stacks?

Visit the Gangwish Library Stacks or the Gangwish Library Reference Collection for Books on American and World History and Politics.

Political Science
320 Political science
321 Systems of governments & states
322 Relation of state to organized groups
323 Civil & political rights
324 The political process
325 International migration & colonization
326 Slavery & emancipation
327 International relations
328 The legislative process

History & Geography

900 Geography & history
901 Philosophy & theory
902 Miscellany
903 Dictionaries & encyclopedias
904 Collected accounts of events
905 Serial publications
906 Organizations & management
907 Education, research, related topics
908 With respect to kinds of persons
909 World history
910 Geography & travel
911 Historical geography
912 Graphic representations of earth
913 Ancient world
914 Europe
915 Asia
916 Africa
917 North America
918 South America
919 Other areas
920 Biography, genealogy, insignia
929 Genealogy, names, insignia
930 History of ancient world
931 History of ancient world China
932 History of ancient world Egypt
933 History of ancient world Palestine
934 History of ancient world India
935 History of ancient world Mesopotamia & Iranian Plateau
936 History of ancient world Europe north & west of Italy
937 History of ancient world Italy & adjacent territories
938 History of ancient world Greece
939 History of ancient world Other parts of ancient world
940 General history of Europe
941 General history of Europe British Isles
942 General history of Europe England & Wales
943 General history of Europe Central Europe Germany
944 General history of Europe France & Monaco
945 General history of Europe Italian Peninsula & adjacent islands
946 General history of Europe Iberian Peninsula & adjacent islands
947 General history of Europe Eastern Europe Soviet Union
948 General history of Europe Northern Europe Scandinavia
949 General history of Europe Other parts of Europe
950 General history of Asia Far East
951 General history of Asia China & adjacent areas
952 General history of Asia Japan
953 General history of Asia Arabian Peninsula & adjacent areas
954 General history of Asia South Asia India
955 General history of Asia Iran
956 General history of Asia Middle East (Near East)
957 General history of Asia Siberia (Asiatic Russia)
958 General history of Asia Central Asia
959 General history of Asia Southeast Asia
960 General history of Africa
961 General history of Africa Tunisia & Libya
962 General history of Africa Egypt & Sudan
963 General history of Africa Ethiopia
964 General history of Africa Morocco & Canary Islands
965 General history of Africa Algeria
966 General history of Africa West Africa & offshore islands
967 General history of Africa Central Africa & offshore islands
968 General history of Africa Southern Africa
969 General history of Africa South Indian Ocean islands
970 General history of North America
971 General history of North America Canada
972 General history of North America Middle America Mexico
973 General history of North America United States
973.7 L63 Used for Abraham Lincoln works
974 General history of North America Northeastern United States
975 General history of North America Southeastern United States
976 General history of North America South central United States
977 General history of North America North central United States
978 General history of North America Western United States
979 General history of North America Great Basin & Pacific Slope
980 General history of South America
981 General history of South America Brazil
982 General history of South America Argentina
983 General history of South America Chile
984 General history of South America Bolivia
985 General history of South America Peru
986 General history of South America Colombia & Ecuador
987 General history of South America Venezuela
988 General history of South America Guiana
989 General history of South America Paraguay & Uruguay
990 General history of other areas
993 General history of other areas New Zealand
994 General history of other areas Australia
995 General history of other areas Melanesia New Guinea
996 General history of other areas Other parts of Pacific Polynesia
997 General history of other areas Atlantic Ocean islands
998 General history of other areas Arctic islands & Antarctica
999 Extraterrestrial worlds

Finding History E-Books at the Gangwish Library

These are books available in the Myers Library Stacks for checkout.

The Better Angels of Our Nature by Michael A. Halleran
Call Number: 973.71 H15b
ISBN: 9780817316952
Publication Date: 2010-03-11
To Arms by Hew Strachan
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780199261918
Publication Date: 2003-03-13
This is the first truly definitive history of the First World War, the war that has done most to shape the twentieth century. The first generation of its historians had access to only a limited range of sources, and their focus was primarily on military events. More recent approaches haveembraced cultural, diplomatic, economic, and social history. In Hew Strachan's authoritative and readable history these fresh perspectives are incorporated with the military and strategic narrative. The result is an account that breaks the bounds of national preoccupations to become both globaland comparative.To Arms, the first of three volumes in this magisterial study, examines not only the causes of the war and its opening clashes on land and sea, but also the ideas that underpinned it, and the motivations of the people who supported it. It provides full and pioneering accounts of the war's finances,of the war in Africa, and of the Central Powers' bid to widen the war outside Europe.
The Vietnam War by Mark Atwood Lawrence
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780195314656
Publication Date: 2008-08-04
The Vietnam War remains a topic of extraordinary interest, especially in light of the invasion of Iraq. In The Vietnam War, Mark Lawrence offers readers a superb short account of this key moment in U.S. as well as world history, based on the latest European and American research and on newlyopened archives in China, Russia, and Vietnam.While focusing on the American involvement from 1965 to 1975, Lawrence offers an unprecedentedly complete picture of all sides of the war, drawing on now available communist records to capture the complicated brew of motivations that drove the other side. Moreover, the book reaches back wellbefore American forces set foot in Vietnam, describing for instance how French colonialism sparked the 1945 Vietnamese revolution, and revealing how the Cold War concerns of the 1950s warped Washington's perception of Vietnam, leading the United States to back the French and eventually becomeinvolved on the ground itself. Of course, the heart of the book is the "American war," ranging from the overthrow of Ngo Dinh Diem to the impact of the Tet Offensive on the political situation in the US, Johnson's withdrawal from the 1968 presidential race, Nixon's expansion of the war into Cambodiaand Laos, and the final peace agreement of 1973, which ended American military involvement. Finally, the book examines the aftermath of the war, from the momentous liberalization--"Doi Moi"--in Vietnam that began in 1986, to the enduring legacy of the war in American books, films, and politicaldebate.A quick and reliable primer on an intensely relevant topic, this well researched and engaging volume offers an invaluable overview of the Vietnam War.

DVD & VHS's on History and Geography available at the Library

Here are just eight of a collection of DVD's and VHS's available for checkout on History and Geography topics.

Mao Tse Tung: China's peasant emperor This link opens in a new window
DVD Biography of this Chinese Leader.

History and Geography Reference Book Highlights at the Library

Find these History Reference Books and More on in the Reference Section at the Gangwish Library

Cambridge Medieval History R940.1 G99c
The Civil War Almanac R973.B78c
The D K Great World Atlas R912 G7gt
Dictionary of American History R973.03D56d
Kansas Atlas & Gazetteer R912.781 K13d
Native North American Almanac R 970.00497 N21n
Rand McNally Commercial Atlas & Marketing R912 C73c
The Times Atlas of the Second World War R911 T48t
Who was who in the Civil War R 973.90922 SI 2W
World Almanac of World War II 940.54 W89y

Library Guru

Danielle O'Barto

Email Me

Contact:

Gangwish Library
Ottawa University
1001 S. Cedar St.
Ottawa, KS 66067

785-248-2372

Finding Geography E-books at the Gangwish Library

HIstory and Geography e-books are available in the Ebscohost E-book Collections in the Gangwish Library's Online Databases. Here are some examples of the types of geography books available in those collections.

Landscapes of Origin in the Americas by Jessica Joyce Christie (Contribution by, Editor, Introduction by); Allen J. Christenson (Contribution by); Betty Cornelius (Contribution by); Larry A. Eddy (Contribution by); Richard Arnold (Contribution by); Patricia J. Netherly (Contribution by); Christopher Oakley (Contribution by); Merideth Paxton (Contribution by); Polly Schaafsma (Contribution by); Richard W. Stoffle (Contribution by); William B. Tsosie (Contribution by); Kathleen Van Vlack (Contribution by); Manuel Aguilar-Moreno (Contribution by)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780817355609
Publication Date: 2009-09-27
Landscape is a powerful factor in the operation of memory because of the associations narrators make between the local landscape and the events of the stories they tell. Ancestors and mythological events often become fixed in a specific landscape and act as timeless reference points. In conventional anthropological literature, "landscape" is the term applied to the meaning local people bestow on their cultural and physical surroundings. In this work, the authors explore the cultural and physical landscapes an individual or cultural group has constructed to define the origins or beginnings of that cultural group as revealed through shared or traditional memory. The cultural landscapes of origins in diverse sites throughout the Americas are investigated through multidisciplinary research, not only to reveal the belief system and mythologies but also to place these origin beliefs in context and relationship to each other. In a continual interaction between the past, present, and future, time is subordinate to place, and history, as defined in Western academic terms, does not exist.