Music Resources: Find Music Books at Gangwish Library

780 MUSIC

• 781 General principles & Musical forms
• 782 Vocal Music
• 783 Music for single voices; The Voice
• 784 Instruments and Instrumental ensambles
• 785 Chamber Music
• 786 Keyboards & other instruments
• 787 Stringed Instruments (Chordophones)
• 788 Wind Instruments (Aerophones)

The Aaron Copland Collection of Music Scores is located in Archives at Ottawa University. There are 150 music scores in the collection. For access to these scores please contact our librarians.

Each score has been described and has a unique record in the Gangwish Library Catalog. To find out what scores are available please go to the Myers Library Catalog link below.

To find the Music in the Copland Collection:  Go to our Gangwish EOS Library Catalog and do the following;

Find Advanced Search. Choose Collection Type and enter Copland Collection. You will find all the scores in the collection listed in the catalog.

Find these Music Reference Books in the Reference Section at the Gangwish Library:

• The Harvard Dictionary of Music (R780.3 Ap2h)    
• The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (R780.3 N42n)
• The Oxford Companion to Music (R780.3 Ox2)
• The New Oxford History of Music (R780.9 Ox2n)
• The Complete Book of Classical Music (R780.9033 CW3c)
• Composers since 1900 (R780.92 Ew3c)
• Popular American Composers (R780.92 Ew3p)
• The World of 20th century Music (R780.92 Ew92n)
• The Guiness Encyclopedia of Music (R781.6403694g)
• Encyclopedia of Folk, Country and Western Music (R781.773 St2e)
• The New Grove Dictionary of American Music (R781.773 N42n)
• The New Grove Dictionary of Musica Instruments (R781. 91 N43s)
• Dictionary of Music Themes (R781.07 B249c)
• Dictionary of Opera & Song Themes (R781.97 M82d)
• Blue Book of Broadway Musicals (R782.81 B95b)
• Dictionary of Hymnology (R783 J94d)
• Tin Pan Alley Blue Book (R784 B95b)
• Song Index (R784.016 Se1s)
• Popular Music (R784.093016 Sh2p)
• Folksingers and Folksongs in America (R784.4973 L41f)
• Big Band Almanac (R785.022 W15b)
• The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (R785.42 N42n)
• Cobbet's Cyclopedic Survey of Chamber Music (R785.703 C63c)
• Dictionary of Percussion (R786.81903 En1b)

 

DVD Movies available from the front desk of the Gangwish Library

• Expressive Conducting (DVD 786.81903)
• Jazz by Ken Burns (9 vols.) (DVD781.65 J33b)  
• Together let us sweetly live (DVD781.71575d)

For more DVD's please consult the Library Catalog

VHS Movies available in the Gangwish Library Collection

 

• What they see is what you get                      VT781,45 W55e
• Jazz by Ken Burns                                            VT781.65 J33b    (10 volumes)
• Don Giovanni                                                       VT782.1 M87d
• The Magic Flute                                                  VT 782.1 M87m
• Bell Classics                                                       VT789.5 B45b

html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">

//Search/AdvancedSearch.aspx">

Field	Search For
Keyword Title Author

Limit your search by collection type:
Archives
Book Collection
Periodicals Other Search Options

• Advanced Search
• Browse Search

---